MSO: Rachmaninoff & Sibelius

November 11 & 12, 2022 at 7:30 pm
Gallo Center for the Arts

Tickets*: $19/29/39/49/69/94

Featuring: Nicholas Hersh, conductor & George Li, piano

Conductor Nicholas Hersh will lead the MSO for the Rachmaninoff & Sibelius concerts. This program gives us the opportunity to hear Hersh’s arrangement of the second movement of Schubert’s famous string quartet, Death and the Maiden. Then pianist George Li will be featured on Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini and the program will finish with Sibelius’ Symphony No. 5. This breathtaking beauty captures 16 soaring swans when the strings mimic the fluttering of wings and a glorious, arching theme played by the French horns.


Franz Schubert (arr. Hersh)
String Quartet No. 14, II. Andante con moto
Variations on a Theme “Death and the Maiden”

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

Jean Sibelius
Symphony No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 82

*Tickets are available online, by phone at 209-338-2100 and at the Gallo Center for the Arts Ticket office. Subscribe & save up to 25% off today by visiting modestosymphony.org/subscribe. Groups of 10 or more save 15% on tickets. $12 student tickets are available at the Ticket Office with student ID. For more information, call the Gallo Center Ticket Office at 209.338.2100.


Gallo Center for the Arts

More Info

Read More
Go to Top